3 Facts for the Day

21 06 2013

1. If you read my blog regularly, then you know that my platform is usually varied. The post is sometimes humorous, sometimes serious, sometimes reflective, but it always (even if I don’t come right out and say it) has my love for Jesus sewn throughout. I typically follow His lead for what I write. That being said, I felt like He impressed something pretty important on me today. I was thumbing through Facebook this morning when something caught my eye that took me aback. It was a corporate sponsored ad, but I was surprised by their support of a lifestyle that I consider not to be one that God intended. There it is. I’m stepping out on a limb. I started to see a few other posts that made me feel like we have become a pretty tolerate Nation. Tolerance in itself is a good thing considering that it shows love to all mankind. That is good, right? Where I think it crosses the line, is where we as Christians become so tolerant of sin amongst us, that we stop seeing it as sin. It was like my drive downtown today. You can be on a very prominent street, that is considered so safe you would let your small child ride their bike unobserved. Look down and fiddle with the radio, check your phone, etc, and the next thing you know, you look up and you’re in a “bad” area of town. Well, what designates a bad area of town, or sin (since that’s what I’m really talking about) you might ask. The Bible does. I’m afraid we’ve begun to blur the lines a bit. We’ve made a Christian walk seem like a book we’ve all heard of titled “Fifty Shades of Gray”. No, I’m not saying anything concerning sadomasochism. I’m saying that we’re putting everything in a gray zone, and I just disagree with that. I think it’s black or white. (That’s not a racial comment. Don’t be silly.) Something is wrong or it is right. You are either for Him or against Him. Strong words, I know. Maybe it’s time.
2. As I went about scrolling through my social media, while listening to God, I was reminded of a blog I read by a popular female blogger. I remember at the time, I just couldn’t in my heart, agree with her post. I really wanted to. All my friends adore the lady, and I really love her too. Then I realized, you can still love someone, but disagree with them at the same time. That’s kind of what this whole thing is about. You can keep on loving people. Just don’t love their sin. (No, I’m not saying that blogger sinned. Move on with me. I jump around quickly!) You may say, “Of course I don’t love their sin!” Well, maybe we all need to look at ourselves about that. If you tolerate someone’s sin, and tiptoe around it not wanting to hurt their feelings, what is that? If you become so focused on leading others to convert that you gloss over what is expected of a follower of Christ, then what is that? If you don’t tell a friend in a loving manner what they need to hear, what is that? (Not what they want to hear, but what they need to hear. Big difference). If you’re unable to stand up for what God has commanded in His word, and instead stick your head in the sand like an ostrich, what is that? Is it loving sin? Think about that if you need to.
3. When I saw the ad this morning, I immediately went to research it. I then shared my findings with my husband. It’s something we will need to discuss together and pray about. We may be changing the way we do business, and that may have to exclude this huge corporation. We may not. I don’t know yet, but I know that we have to be mindful of these things. I know I can’t separate my family from the world, but I feel like we can make a stand for what we know God tells us is right. We can also stand firm against what we think is wrong. Does that mean we will go around condemning others while thumping our Bibles at them. No. I am one of the biggest sinners there ever was. I still am. I was thankfully pulled away from my former lifestyle by God’s love. He saved me, but I haven’t forgotten who I was. I will never judge anyone for where or how they fall! I’ve still got scabs on my own knees from my multiple falls. I will stand up for what I feel like is the life God has for His people, one free of sin. I have a sign in my yard that says “Arise” with the verse 2 Chronicles 7:14.
If my people who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from Heaven, and I will forgive their sin and heal their land.
I see so much talk about our country “falling apart” or “going to hell in a hand basket”. Are we not all responsible for this? Should we not make a stand? Should we not arise and seek His face and His will for our country. We can no longer hide behind the excuse that we’re showing the love of Jesus by not saying anything and in essence ignoring someone’s sin. You don’t have to pretend a sin isn’t a sin to please people and try to get them to church. It’s a fine line, and I know it’s not an easy one. When I think of others, and whatever their life may be, I remind myself just how precious God, their Father, sees them. Seeing them through His eyes allows me to love no matter the offense. But sin is still sin. Chloe doesn’t run into the street because her Dad told her the traffic could hurt her. She knows not to run in front of a car, but even as much as I love her, I wouldn’t dare let her cross without holding my hand. I don’t want to downplay serious matters with my metaphors, but that’s the way my mind works. Our Heavenly Father has issued His desires for our lives in His word. We know. Now we have to act like it. Don’t let someone you love run into oncoming traffic. Hold their hand lovingly and show them where the crosswalk is located.

I know this post may upset some people. I am sorry if I offend anyone, but I’m not sorry for sharing how I feel and believe.

That is all 🙂

20130620-215406.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

