3 Facts for the Day

26 06 2013

1. I’m sure you all have been wondering, where’s the Mommy mush? Where’s the ooey, gooey Mommy love posts that I’m so famous for? Well, here you go my friends.
2. This morning when Miss Bailey awoke, I was surprised to see her right eye crusted shut. I had noticed it seemed a little red the day before, but was just watching it. It was indeed oozing goop. Her tiny, cherry nose was producing snot quicker than I could wipe it. Her eyes were red rimmed and tears coursed down her cheeks. As I looked down at her and spoke gently, her mouth turned up into a smile. It transformed her face into a radiantly beautiful and angelic sight, despite the obvious signs of illness. We enjoyed a leisurely morning just the two of us. Even though she was obviously not feeling well, she laughed and spoke with me, like the 8 hours she had spent in her room had been a month away from me. I ended up taking her to the doctor, more for the way the eye looked and a low grade fever, than for the sinus symptoms. Her white count was elevated, so it seems she’s fighting something off. Despite it all, she continues to be the happiest little thing I’ve ever seen. I was sitting in my chair about to play on my phone, and looked over at her. She was sitting on the floor watching me. She had a huge grin on her face, and was straining her neck to see what I was doing. I immediately had to put my phone down! I crawled into the floor and began playing with my precious girl. I wasn’t sure if I was capable of loving another person like I love my first daughter. I couldn’t fathom how I would replicate such an amazingly complex emotion like the one I had for Chloe. How could I make that work? My precious Bailey has made it come naturally. I didn’t even have to try. I just see her, and I do. God created us to love as He does. He sees each of us as individual, beautiful children, and loves us immensely, wonderfully, and without an end. I’m so grateful to be afforded the opportunity to practice such love.
3. When Chloe was a baby of Bailey’s age, I adored her. As she’s grown, so has my love. Each day is a blessing to watch her grow and her little personality change and take on its unique characteristics. Every day she says things that amaze me, amuse me, and somehow make me want to laugh and cry at the same time. As she grows older, she says more often, “I can do it myself.” But I love that she concludes with, “But I need your help a widdle bit.” She has a heart of gold and loves everyone. Last night she told her stepsister on the phone, “I miss you. Come home now. It’s dark. Supper’s ready.” And today at Bailey’s appointment she placed her hand gently on the tech’s arm as he drew Bailey’s blood, and patted his bicep affectionately. I wondered if he noticed. Then he said, “I miss my daughter being little” and I knew he did. Chloe was so worried for her little sister. Upon discovering she was sick, she immediately grabbed her doctor kit and came up with a diagnosis. She deemed Bailey to have: Booger Nose-osis. She shared this with anyone working at the doctor’s office who would listen, no doubt sharing her consultation with her professional peers. The past two days in a row, I’ve had three different people comment on the above average, well behavior of my children. Does that make me proud. You bet your tootsies it does. But the thing is, I’d be proud of them anyway. Even on their worst behaved days, they’re my perfect little gifts from God. I feel like I’m living a dream right now. Each day is so full and amazing. All I can do is say thank you. Thank you Lord. And there you have it, your daily dose of Mommy cheese.
That is all 🙂

20130626-185622.jpg

20130626-185641.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

