3 Facts for the Day

8 07 2013

1. It is truly amazing how quickly the human body can weaken. I see it happen often in the hospital setting. An illness causes a patient to become confined to the bed for a few days, and then when they go to get up they’re always surprised. The majority of the time they try to stand up on their own two legs that were sturdy as tree trunks the week prior, and are confronted with noodles where their limbs should be. It doesn’t take much inactivity at all to weaken the muscles and joints. Something also happens to the self confidence of a patient during this. When they realize their strength has fled, their belief in their own abilities tends to diminish as well. They end up requiring physical therapy a lot of the time. They have to rebuild their strength and endurance. They’re confronted with reteaching stubborn legs to support their weight, and confused feet to take one step after the other. They must renew their spirit as well.
2. I witnessed such a case today. After an extended hospital stay with unforeseen complications, what’s left is a patient unable to get from the bed to the bathroom. I watched him say, “I can’t do it!” It reminded me of my child. When faced with a seemingly insurmountable task, such as picking up all her blocks, she gives up easily, saying, “I can’t do it!” It reminded me of myself. There are times when God places a dream in my heart. I feel His hand in it and know His promises are true, but think to myself, “I can’t do that!” I find myself in the midst of trials or situations that just seem too much, and I think, “No. Seriously, I can’t do this!” Even last night I felt as if I were under a spiritual attack. After such a full day, and feeling so cared for by The Lord, I still found myself feeling down. It was as if some unknown force was trying to instill doubt in my mind over God’s goodness.
3. That anxiety, depression, and feeling of being defeated were not from my God. I thankfully recognized that right away. I knew that “I couldn’t do it!” I couldn’t fight those feelings alone. I did the first thing that came to my mind. I praised God. I thanked Him for all the good things. I was at a weak moment, and clung to praise. My patient did something today he didn’t think possible. He walked down the hall. No, it wasn’t easy. He had to take many breaks. His knees were weak, and his shoulders ached as he held to the walker. His throat seared in pain with each inspiration of short breath. But, guess what. He did it. I’d like to think my phone playing Eye of the Tiger spurred him on, but I doubt it. In utter weakness and feeling defeat, he pressed on. I daily am teaching Chloe to stop saying, in a two year old whine, “I can’t do it!” I am instead teaching her to calmly say, “Mommy, I need your help.” 2 Corinthians 12:9 says:
But he said to me, “my grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.
We’re gonna be weak. Sometimes we’ll whine about our circumstances like a small child. What if we could instead cry out, with a calm spirit, for help. What about when you’re so weak, you don’t even know what to cry out for? What if instead we praised Him in those moments. What about when our bodies and minds have reached their limit? What if, at those moments, we press onward to the goal for which He has called us? Weakness will come. Will you boast, or take joy from it, so Christ’s power may rest on you? That is something to strife for, but until then, take heart. Praise Him. Press forward. Ask for help. And always remember, when we are weak, He is strong.
That is all 🙂

20130707-211135.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

