3 Facts for the Day

21 07 2013

1. I’m hoping this post is going to come out right. I will definitely pray over it before I hit publish. You know how you can have something in your head, but you worry if it will come out as well formulated as it rests inside your brain? Well, bare with me as I pull this one out. Today when I went to grab lunch, I witnessed an encounter between two co-workers. One person seemed calm in their approach. The other person appeared obviously defensive. It wasn’t just defensive. It was also rude. I was a little shocked that there seemed to be no concern for either me hearing it, or the feelings of the individual on the receiving end. I realize, of course, that I only saw a piece of an interaction. I cannot know what events may have transpired prior to this incident. I also know that every one has a bad day. That being said, this isn’t about a particular conversation I heard, but rather a central theme that this occurrence brought to my mind. How do our encounters with people every day reflect on our character? Read that sentence again if you need to. In other words, how does our reaction to day-to-day events paint a picture of the person we are or even claim to be?
2. On another thread (that I promise to somehow string together), I began to think of how people respond to how they are viewed. What I mean is, I often see people concerned with what other people think of their life or lifestyle choices. Not everyone does. Some people could care less. But, still, there’s a lot of people out there who do care. Maybe even the ones who say they don’t, care a little. You’ll hear, “Don’t judge me” or “take a walk in my shoes”. Not everyone who says one of those comments fits into this category, but often, the people who say “don’t judge me”, are feeling convicted perhaps. I could be way off base. I’m merely going by past, personal experience. I often felt judged when I didn’t have things right with God. I noticed all the hypocrites, and brought them to center stage so I felt better. I called people who weren’t doing what I may be doing, “judgmental”. What exactly makes a person worry about if their choices are right? Is the “church” responsible for making you feel judged? Is it really? Are you really just experiencing love and concern? I don’t know. It’s just a question to think about.
3. I may not know specifically what you’re experiencing. I only know me. I know what conviction feels like. It’s that nagging feeling that I’m not where I need to be with stuff. I know what condemnation feels like. It’s that depressing feeling that you’re not good enough because of all that “stuff”. It’s a lie, and it’s not of God. I know that, for me, as I fell deeper in love with Jesus, I decided I wanted to please Him. I can think of many things I do for my spouse simply because I love him. There’s also things I wouldn’t do, because I love and respect him. As I fell deeper into my relationship with The Lord, I wanted to please Him. I started getting rid of “stuff” that I didn’t think would please Him. I didn’t do it for the “church” or for other people. I did it for God. A love like that can make you change so many things. I started to become aware of how I reacted with others. A poor attitude on the job just didn’t seem pleasing to Him. I fell so in love with Him that I wanted to share it with others. I realized that the best way to do that is by showing His love through displaying His character. There comes a time when you realize your actions and behaviors must parallel your commitment to Christ. You come to understand that you’ve been adopted into a Heavenly family and you have to keep up the good name. I in no way want to give the impression that I’m an expert at this. I’m not. I mess up all the time. I’m still working on my temper. But the thing is, I’m trying. My desire is to please Him, not others. My desire is to love others, and He will be pleased. Maybe this post rubs you the wrong way. Don’t feel condemned, but if God wants to convict you, then that’s good. Don’t change because you feel judged by man. Change because you want to for our Father. Live each moment, make each decision, and craft each word with His heart in mind. When you do, you’ll discover it’s not rules, it’s freedom.
Psalm 51:10
Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
That is all 🙂

20130720-203442.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

