3 Facts for the Day

26 07 2013

1. Last night I didn’t cook dinner. The hubby instructed me that he would bring pizza home for us. If you don’t know, that’s what the Mr. does for a living. His pizza pie is a local favorite, and he tosses dough like no one else can. I am always touched when he brings us home pizza. It may not seem like much to you, but to me it is. I realize that by the time he puts together our pizza, at the end of the night, he has already made more of the pies all day than I could imagine. It also is a sweet gesture considering he won’t likely partake in the meal himself. Since making the decision to limit sodium in his diet, pizza is mostly off limits. The thing that struck me most, though, was this action came at the end of a day in which my husband had been serving, assisting, or providing for us continuously.
2. As is so often the case, babies feel it is necessary to keep you alert. They never want you to take anything for granted. Once you become comfortable with their sleep schedule, and begin to rest more comfortably as they sleep through the night, they will switch things up. Teething starts around the time you get sleep training in place. This means midnight awakenings. This has been the case this week. Early yesterday morning, around 2:30 am, Bailey woke up. Ben offered to take her. In my sleep fog, I didn’t argue. I actually turned over contentedly and fell back asleep almost instantly. He took the baby knowing that his alarm was set for 6 am. My alarm was set for. Oh, wait. That’s right. My alarm wasn’t set at all. I could get up whenever I chose. He went to an appointment out of town with three hours sleep. He also opted to take Chloe with him so I could sleep in with the baby. I knew he would have to go to work when he returned. I secretly hoped, for his sake, that he wouldn’t have to go into work until later in the evening so he could get a nap. After arriving home, he let me know that he indeed could stay home until that afternoon. He decided to spend that free time mowing the yard. The little time that was left after yard work, he spent playing with the children and talking to me.
3. Sometimes I wonder how I got so blessed with my spouse. One thing I try not to do is take him for granted. I always want him to know that what he does for us is appreciated. Even if I think he already knows, I’ll tell him how proud we are to call him our own. I make sure I say thank you. I always say I love you. I send texts and pictures, not so many as to bother him at work, but enough for him to know we’re thinking of him in his absence. Today Chloe brought in a watering can she wanted me to fill in the kitchen sink. It was covered with dirt from sitting outside. Just her bringing it through from the back door, had left a trail of dirt everywhere. It made me think of what you bring into your home, or your marriage for that matter. You can’t bring dirt into your house and expect your marriage to stay pristine. Sadly, this is something I learned after my first marriage fell apart. I won’t expound on that. If something comes to mind that you question if it could be “dirt”, then it probably is. Also, never put yourself in a compromising situation. If you think your spouse wouldn’t approve, stop there, no matter how innocent it may seem. (For the record, I’ve never cheated, but have been cheated on). Another thing I never did in my previous marriage was pray for my husband. I can’t look back now at the mistakes I made. I’m not sure that any amount of prayer could change the mess we made. I can only look at what God has given me now. I pray for Ben without ceasing. Mostly I just lift him up and ask God to bless my spouse and help him feel God’s love for him. Most important, I thank God everyday for the gift of my husband. If you don’t see your husband as a gift, I would encourage you to look again. Don’t look at him with critical, judgmental eyes. Don’t look with your friend’s or your family’s eyes. Look at him with God’s eyes and you will be blessed at the gift you hold each day.
That is all 🙂

20130725-213645.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

